MUSIC – MY LIFE, MY WORLD

As far as I am existing in this world, I know that there are certain factors that affect my being as a person than can then influence also to other beings, to certain situations, and to the world. Consequently, these factors that I am pointing about are some things that I possess, things which are unusual innate ability in some field or activity. For short, these things are my talents.

During my High School life, I had passed already a lot of activities and performances that I had executed, practiced, trained, and achieved about extracurricular activities and those are folkdance, dance sport, song writing workshop, organ and keyboard playing, modelling, painting and landscape workshop, seminars and trainings, Journalism, Drama Fest and news casting. Thus, I am so very delighted to be blessed with these talents that I have. Subsequently, I am now in college and I thus put my focus more on my academics and what I have something to be called good quality of talent which is something I can contribute to the community is my talent in music, song composition, choral teaching & singing, and vocal solo training. I can say that I am good in this field for I have background in music which I had studied many years ago in Yamaha School of Music and I further have an experience of good quality singing for I had undergone a well-trained vocalization and guidance on singing coached by one of special and professional musician priest. I don’t know why for a certain that I have this kind of talent.

When I was in my grade 2 or 3, it was just in a sudden that my mother inquired me to study in a school of music for me to discover this kind of field. Well, since I was just wondering if what it would be and what can this contribute to my existence, I tried to study in that school and I had encountered a lot of experiences with my teacher. I studied there for almost years of two and a half and I had undergone two recitals. I stopped studying in there maybe because all I thought the more that in my elementary education, I found myself somewhat weird and unusual whenever there is discussion in music for I had a lot of knowledge already in that subject and accordingly in those times, I don’t want to feel somewhat like weird like this. Later, I stopped my schooling in Yamaha School of Music. Time passed and I entered seminary. In my Pre-College Formation years, I was persuaded to play the organ for our spiritual activities and other musical events. Furthermore, I was coached for my contest in Vocal Solo Pop by a certain professional. And as time goes by, I have noticed that I have discovered that I am utilizing my forte in music and as a result, I have taught various choirs in the archdiocese including the seminary, became instrumentalist in several choir and band, taught vocalists, composed songs proper, responsorial psalm, and some religious songs, taught somebody to play keyboard, and educated the young about music.  

I found music is somewhat significant in my life and I have realized a lot about liturgical music and the musicianship of the various parish choirs of the archdiocese. Thus, music really builds my being on how to share what I have as a gift for other people and as a gift for me. Presently, I am now a MusicCom in our community and I have such resolution for myself and for the community that I must sincerely respond very actively to this field by putting my passion, talent, and time to the extent of my potential.

By Alan Christian T. Tabaosares     

Leave a comment